You don’t need a license to buy flowers: The first thing you need to know
Posted On July 21, 2021
Flowers are so ubiquitous in many home decor stores, you may have to buy a license for some if you want to decorate a flower bed, flooring, or even a bathroom.
That said, you can still buy a free license if you have a specific business use case for flowers, like a wedding, birth, or adoption.
Here’s what you need and what you can buy if you’re not sure.
License Requirements Flowers are legal in California, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.
The most common licenses are flower bouquets and flowers.
Licenses can be purchased from licensed flower retailers, or purchased from an authorized flower seller.
For more information, see the Flower Businesses page.
Businesses that are licensed must be located in California.
In addition, flower stores and nursery stores must have a location that is at least 100 miles (161 kilometers) away from their business.
They must also be located within a 100-mile radius of their business premises.
You don�t need a flower license if your business is located in a county with a population of less than 100,000.
For a list of California counties, see California counties.
If you are a small business or business that does not sell flowers, you do not need a business license.
You can sell flowers at home, for personal use, or for distribution.
If your business does not meet all of these requirements, you still may be able to sell flowers through your home, a flower nursery, or at a flower store.
For example, you could sell flowers from your home at your flower nursery or at an authorized home flower seller and also sell flowers for personal or for a business use.
However, you need a state license to sell at home.
To purchase a license, contact your local county or state agency and request one.
You do not have to obtain a license from your county or other state agency.
For additional information, read the Flower License page.
Contact Your State Attorney General or other law enforcement agencies If you have concerns about a license being issued to a business that is not licensed in your state, you should contact your state attorney general.
For specific information, contact the Attorney General’s Office.
For business licenses issued in your home state, contact state licensing officials in your county.
You must also contact your city, county, or other governing body.
Your local police department can help you determine whether you are in violation of the law.
The California Attorney General�s office can help with this process, and they can help obtain a temporary license from a state agency for a time period.
For the most current information, visit the California Attorney Generals website.
For other information, call your local police bureau.
For further guidance, contact a state licensing office or your local law enforcement agency.
License Renewals For a license renewal, contact any state licensing agency, and request a license.
If the license expires in the next 12 months, the state agency will provide you with an invoice for your license.
The fee for renewals is $150.00.
if the license is for a lifetime license, the license can be renewed for a fee of $200.00 per year.
For an example of renewal options, see The Best Licenses to Renew Flowers in California article.
You also can contact the state licensing agencies to renew your license for an additional fee.
For renewal fees, see Renewal Fees for Licenses article.
For information on renewals, visit California State Attorney�s website.